top of page
PSV Tiles Thin (21).png
world color solo.png
Screen Shot 2022-11-05 at 8.01.25 PM.png

From 2005—2014, the Robert Wood Foundation (RWJF) established the Steve Patterson Award for Excellence in Sports Philanthropy as a flagship program. The Steve Patterson Award celebrated and promoted the selflessness of service of people within the world of sports who passion and effort made a difference in their communities. 

Past winners of the Steve Patterson Award for Excellence in Sports Philanthropy include: 

(2005) Philadelphia Eagles Youth Partnership

(2006) Jacksonville Jaguars Foundation

(2007) Moyer Foundation, Memphis Grizzlies Charitable Foundation 

(2008) San Francisco Giants Community Fund, The Steve Nash Foundation 

(2009) Marvin Lewis Community Fund, Red Sox Foundation 

(2010) Dikembe Mutombo Foundation, U.S. Soccer Foundation (2011) Cincinnati Reds Community Fund, Brian Griese and Judi’s House 

(2012) Chicago White Sox Volunteer Corps, Notah Begay III Foundation, Women’s Sports Foundation  

(2013) Tony Hawk Foundation, San Francisco 49ers, LA84 Foundation 

(2014) Harlem RBI, Tiger Woods Foundation, Jays Care Foundation


Steve’s fundamental calling in life was to foster personal and societal advancement through sport. The award in his name serves as a tribute to his legacy and was presented each year to an individual athlete, coach, professional team or sports philanthropic organization responsible for positively impacting their surrounding communities.


Beginning in 2015, in the spirit of expanding the mission of the Steve Patterson Award for Excellence in Sports Philanthropy, Patterson Sports Ventures created the Sports Philanthropy League© (SPL), dedicated to being Champions for Change. The SPL mission is to G.I.V.E.H.O.P.E. (Get Involved. Volunteer. Educate. Help Other People Excel) by funding H.O.P.E. Scholarships to the Life Training Academy. The Academy is training the next generation to be Champions for Change and to G.I.V.E.H.O.P.E.  to future generations. 

bottom of page